Installation of the Eta Chapter of Maryland at UMBC


Installation of the Eta Chapter of Maryland at UMBC


Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society. In 1998, UMBC was among only seven colleges and universities in the United states to be offered Phi Beta Kappa chartership (selected from 47 that applied). The installation of the Eta Chapter of Maryland of the Phi Beta Kappa Society took place on March 16, 1998 in the University Center Ballroom. Honorary memberships were given to Jo Ann E. Argersinger, Provost of UMBC; Robert P. Burchard, Professor of Biological Sciences; Daphne D. Harrison; Director of the Center for the Humanities; Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, President of UMBC; Albin O. Kuhn; the first chancellor of UMBC; Jane B. Meyerhoff and Robert E. Meyerhoff, philanthropists; Angela Moorjani; chair of Modern Languages and Linguistics; and Richard F. Neville, former Dean of Arts and Sciences at UMBC. Dr. Jay M. Freyman, director of the Honors College, was named president of the Eta Chapter.


Phi Beta Kappa


University Publications




programs (documents); 5.5 x 8.5 in.


UPUB S7-008_1



Phi Beta Kappa, “Installation of the Eta Chapter of Maryland at UMBC,” UMBC 50th, accessed December 1, 2023,