Named Buildings

Dedication ceremony for George and Betsy Sherman Hall
Dedication ceremony for George and Betsy Sherman Hall, September 19, 2013. University Publications, UPUB I1-044. View full document

The Robert and Jane Meyerhoff Chemistry Building and and the Janet and Walter Sondheim Hall were both dedicated in 2005 to honor two families that have served as long-time supporters and benefactors for UMBC. Academic IV - one of the least popular names for a building in UMBC’s history - was finally renamed the George and Betsy Sherman Hall in 2013. Other named spaces on campus include the Martin Schwartz Hall in the Biological Sciences building, the Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery, the Richard Roberts Seminar Room in the Library, and the Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall in the Performing Arts and Humanities building.

Erickson Hall, a dormitory that opened in 1998, was named by the Erickson Foundation; due to a unique ownership agreement with the State of Maryland, the Erickson Foundation funded the construction of the building and manages the building. UMBC leases the land to Erickson, and at the end of the 40 year lease the building will be donated to the University of Maryland Foundation.